Existentialist Realisations

existentialism

“This Nothingness that you’re fearing, is precisely the one thing that makes your life worth living. This lack of meaning to life grants you the authority as the sole junta, totalitarian, and dictator of your own journey” – Michelle Lara Lin

Franz Kafka postulated: “You are free and that is why you are lost”. I have long wondered if this is true. Are we really reduced to fleeting objects by our own freedom? I once accepted a deity and I allowed the submission to consume me. I did not feel free, but I also certainly did not feel lost. In fact, I felt quite at home in the collective cult of organised religion. It was a sweet delusion and still, I look back and ponder on how ignorant my being really was to wider possibilities.

“What do we mean by saying that existence precedes essence? We mean that man first of all exists, encounters himself- and defines himself afterwards. As far as men go, it is not what they are that interests me, but what they can become” – Jean Paul Sarte

It wasn’t until I released myself of the shackles of the celestial dictatorship of god and the self-centred notion of intelligent design that I really felt “free”. And by” free”, I mean the absence of mass control of vast aspects of my life. Freedom requires you to be a little lost. “Lost” is the primer for independent direction. Lost means that you get to find your own way, however dark or bleak that road may be. Everyone is experiencing their own reality and there is a great beauty in that. Once I was metaphorically “free”, I began to see life for what it is; a splendid, distressing event in the blissful repose of nothingness. Frankly, It is better to be punctured by an unpleasant truth than sweetened by disturbing lie.

You can shape life however you want to and the Universe is your best friend throughout this journey. You, as the sole junta of your existence can live in any which way your heart desires. This is the beauty of Existentialism and Relativity. Those who are devoured by dogma do not know what they are missing out on- the chance to dictate your own existence on this tiny, insignificant planet that we call earth. It is a tantalising endeavour that excites me everyday. Waking up to the idea of a blank sheet, day in day out, you are re-born to new possibilities. I love my carte blanche, and I hold on to it with my life.

“Existentialism doesn’t excuse anyone from anything. It obligates everyone to everything”

It is a giant myth that non-believers live meaningless existences with no purposeful ending. Really, it is quite the opposite. Individuals who do not accept a permanent, unalterable deity are actually live life with nothing to die for. In this sense, we live stronger. We do not aimlessly wander; we dictate every aspect of our expedition. We salvage every moment, every second because we are more inclined to believe that second chances and dual-existences are unlikely. Life becomes a lot richer when you accept the concept of “I don’t know..“. None of us have the answers to the “purpose of life” and we certainly shouldn’t try to translate a massive coincidence into a pre-meditated spectacle of design.

“You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life” – Albert Camus

There is absolutely nothing wrong with embracing the idea that we you have no fucking clue why we are here. And even if we did, we have no current methodology of proving it. Learn to accept the nothingness, and use it as your canvas for whatever journey you want to take on this planet. Do not allow the notion of an apocalyptic ending to consume you. Stop trying to understand the non-understandable. Live as the fleeting star that you are on this enigmatic planet that you are not bound by.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Robyn Harris says:

    This is the best article I’ve read on the subject, in forever. Your mind is my nirvana. Keep writing, girl. ❤

  2. bethstamm says:

    Thank you for putting my view of life into understandable words. My life changed within the past year, from a fear of a controlling and vengeful God, to a free and guiltless life of, as you say, “Carte Blanche.” The world was such a dark and fearful place while growing up and I was engrained with the idea that the world would soon come to an end with us Christians dying a slow, painful, death of persecution to prove our loyalty to a supposedly “loving” God.

    The sweetness of the life I now live cannot even compare to the past live I once was trapped in. Life is rich and everyday is a new adventure for any possibility to happen in. As Robyn Harris has written above; keep writing, girl.

  3. jausking says:

    Reblogged this on dancingtoourowntunes and commented:
    You do not know why you’re here and frankly I dont quite understand why i am here either. Once you can truly except the ideology of “I do not know,” can you be okay with the idea being lost with out . Getting lost in the mix of the world is invetable, so except the fact that the world is not just painted in black and white, things are not always right or wrong…theres millions of possibilities and an infinite number of perspectives so get lost and find your own .

  4. X says:

    absolutely ❤ what u write

Leave a Reply

