What You Need To Know About Your Mind

 

cab83a628a3a697a1c49051bad8612db

“So plant your own gardens and decorate your own soul, instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers” — Jorge Luis Borges. 

Thoughts are a beautiful thing. They are expressive, insightful and overall useful. Thoughts are also egoistical, anxious and fearful. My political psychology professor once described the brain as an electrical motor (running constantly) bathed in chemicals (biological). This way of looking at the mind stuck with me and I tried to place thoughts into this equation. Thoughts are super interesting to me- their origins, their accuracy and their final value to me, as a Self. Thoughts are this; they are both destructive and redemptive. In other words, your thoughts can either save you or destroy you.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 20.34.56

The mind is a fascinating tool. Occasionally it sits still; but the mind is mostly like a whirlpool that has an infinite loop of thoughts. Your thoughts are the product of your experiences, genetics and choices. The chemicals that soak your brain’s infrastructure influences the patterns of your thoughts, but through subjective re-engineering, a process conditioning is also possible. You are your thoughts basically. Optimism and Cynicism are some of the ways that the brain processes experiences and defence mechanisms are a larger part of how we think and act.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 20.41.46

I will make it easy for you; think positively. Solution-minded people live longer, anxious-less lives. I have experimented with the neurobiological way of thinking; pure logic, control management of emotions; and all I felt is un-human. Spiritual beliefs pose that the being which is restless is focused too much on thoughts. One must view reality as a spiral, which we travel through,  sometimes re-visiting experiences with deeper knowledge, reality is not a straight line. If you give in to your mind; you will become a slave to it.

By believing passionately in something that still does not exist, we create it, the non-existent is whatever has not been sufficiently desired” — Franz Kafka

One must view the mind as a friend and as an enemy. The mind is pre-reflexive. This means that thoughts are thought about before they are thought about. Yes, it might sound freakier than it is. All this means is that you can macro-manage your subjective self-model. It is possible to embody your own reality of a ‘self’, it is possible to be, and become, and more importantly, it is likely that your thoughts will be your single biggest connection to your intuitive mind.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 20.01.53

I like my mind. At first, I hated it. It bothered me to think “too much”. I felt like I overanalysed everything. All my friends and family were sick of the excessive word vomit- I had no control over my mind. I believed that the mind was all there ever was. I forgot that I have a heart, and a soul, and an innate unconditional connection to all humans. My mind still bothers me, Sometimes I feel as though there are two Mohadesa’s. The one supports Mohadesa and the one who sabotages Mohadesa. There is a huge grey area in between those two people, but it means this; I have to be careful where I dedicate my thoughts too because where attention goes; energy flows.

(Awesome video on non-duality in the mind)

“I write differently from what I speak, I speak differently from what I think, I think differently from the way I ought to think, and so it all proceeds into deepest darkness” — Kafka 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ricardo Blaug says:

    Most interesting post. Thanks for that

    Ricardo

Leave a Reply

