A Love Letter to My Book

We have been searching for each other for years, eons in fact. You came to me at a time when I needed a guardian angel, it was almost perfect timing and I often wondered if you were too good to be true. I thought “I can’t possibly be blessed with such a gift, a beautiful earth shattering gift”. In my times of insanity, you have given me peace, you are always there, my rock through everything. I love you more than I love myself and there’s nothing I wouldn’t do for you. I owe it all to you. You are the spring in my step, the softest part of the wind. We have been through so much together and whenever it got low, really low, you were there for me reminding me of a higher power, a greater cause, my reason for being. I owe it all to you, everything I have experienced, I have done for you. My world revolves around you.

On the brightest of mornings, it is you and I. On the darkest of nights, it is you and I, through all the storms and calamities, the endless power struggles and our global culture of narcissism. I find sanity in you, in your words, in your nuances, your pages, the way you ground me, the way you make life worth living, the way everything makes sense because of you, I use you as a medium to understand the world better, to understand myself. And you have been the best of friend to me. I use your words to keep me warm at night and I wake up with a smile in the morning because I know that we get to spend the day together. Every day I wake and give thanks to you.

Leave a Reply

